Oh! It’s a self-test

  1. Accessing, managing and evaluating online information: 2/5
    Accessing online information is commonly seen across the web. During my diploma days, we have been self-taught on evaluating the information we get off from the internet for projects, gauging if it is a reliable source. However, by self-learning would grant me little knowledge of the reliability. The only key point I had taken off was to not trust information through Wikipedias or websites, where information can be altered by any guest user.


  2. Participating in online communities: 3/5
    Some online communities which I have participate in are email-ing, Whatsapp (web), Facebook messenger whereby my friends and I would “chat” on the website. Nonetheless, I would like to improve in this area for future use in formal conversation in the corporate world.


  3. Building online networks around an area of interest: 2/5
    I love to share photos of my life with people. Through sharing these photos and memories, friends can look back and rekindle the memories we have had. In addition, we would also be able to know what each of us are doing in our everyday life – interacting through social platform. I guess this is why social media, such as Instagram, Facebook and Tumblr are increasing its popularity among us.


  4. Collaborating with others: 1/5
    I had not been given any opportunity to collaborate with others on the internet yet. But I would gladly love the chance to do so. This sounds exciting!


  5. Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video): 3/5
    Yes, I have created images and text online through social medias and emails. But when it comes to videos and audio I have little or almost no experience. I have always wanted to learn more about videography since many people are earning through YouTube nowadays.


  6. Managing your online identity: 2/5
    When setting up a account, such as emails, social media or even a WordPress would require some information about our identity. It scares me how all this websites can be link to one another. For example, identity information on social medias are got through from the email. I seriously think managing them can be sometimes a hassle/problem, especially when it comes to getting multiple advertising emails from random sources.


  7. Managing your online privacy and security: 2/5
    The only experience I had for managing my online privacy and security was to private my social media to only allow friends of mine to get my information. I can easily do so because the social media provide such function, example Instagram having the “privacy button”. In many circumstances, such as email information have been a nerve-breaking problem for me because no “privacy button” function was made available. As the internet have been rapidly developing, I think privacy of information shared online is extremely important.



After completing the self-test, I realised that my current priorities is largely linked to social media platform. On top of that, my past school projects have exposed me to online sources whereby I can reference through the internet and it helped me to understand my module better.

My current score is 15/35 and I wish to develop and learn more through this module. My target is to achieve a score of at least 28/35 (on average 4/5 for each question).

I am excited to be learning through the web and interacting with my classmates online for the next two weeks to learn more about the module – “Living on the Web” #MANG2049 !


Current score :  15/35
Target score   :  28/35

Leave a Reply

